Crab spider

Master Evolution, Ecology and Systematics

The Master program Ecology, Evolution and Systematics at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena offers high-level scientific education. It covers the full range from molecules to the biodiversity of communities.

The Master's program Evolution, Ecology and Systematics provides in-depth knowledge of biological systems with a clear focus to current research in organismic and evolutionary biology.

The study is interdisciplinary, so that competencies in ecology, biodiversity (including taxonomic knowledge), evolutionary biology, paleontology, systematics and phylogenetics can be acquired at different organizational levels and for different groups of organisms.

Our mission statement is to provide all students with an individual profiling based on a well-founded basic education. The students complete the five compulsory modules on Basics in Evolutionary Research, Ecology and Diversity, Species Identification, Experimental Design and Analysis of Biological Data, as well as an Excursion. For the required elective modules, we leave a great deal of scope for individual choices from modules of the participating Institutes for Zoology and Evolutionary Research, Ecology and Evolution and Biodiversity.

Our graduates will be able to carry out research-oriented activities at universities, non-university research institutions, museums, public authorities, associations or the private sector.

©David Cebulla Imagefilm: The honest professor

Teaching profile

The Master's program Evolution, Ecology and Systematics is aimed at students with a bachelor's degree in biology who are interested in molecular and organismic issues.

The experimentally oriented study is consecutive, research-oriented and leads to the second vocational qualification. The teaching language is English and German, but studying is only possible in English. The beginning of studies takes place in the winter semester.

In addition to lectures, the course program of the Master's program is characterized by a high proportion of independent work in seminars and practical exercises. Various compulsory and elective modules are offered, which enable a broad education in all subjects of organismic and evolutionary biology, but also a focus on a specific topic. Details can be found on the sub-pages to the course program or in the study documents.

In addition to subject-specific scientific skills, our graduates acquire the communicative skills required to present scientific results to the public and can also gain international experience through the possibility of a semester abroad.
In particular, the Master's program qualifies for scientific careers and is the prerequisite for a postgraduate doctoral studies in Zoology, Botany, Systematics, Ecology, Evolutionary Biology, Microbiology and Functional Biodiversity Research at the FSU Jena as well as in Germany and abroad. The education qualifies for scientific work in all highly topical professional fields of the organismic biology.

  • page of

The location Jena

Jena, the City of Science 2008, was appropriately described by Goethe as a city “stacked” with knowledge. Nestling in the picturesque Saale valley, the town couldn’t be more convenient in terms of location or size: here, nothing is far.

Jena is a city of diversity: the university offers a wide range of courses and actively promotes contact between students and scientists from different fields. This attention to networking is one of the reasons behind the success of the dynamic and aspiring city over the last 20 years. Business and academia (in the form of the University and the neighbouring Max Planck and Leibnitz Institutes) work hand in hand, and “town and gown” also collaborate successfully to ensure that Jena continues to develop into a student paradise. Free use of public transport, the absence of university fees, attractive recreational facilities, an exemplary social infrastructure - especially for young families, and a cosmopolitan climate attract over 2000 new students to Jena every year.

  • page of

Biology has a long tradition in Jena. The city was the workplace of the zoologist Ernst Haeckel, the botanist Matthias Jakob Schleiden and the geneticist and botanist Otto Renner. The infrastructure available to students and scientists in the field of Evolution, Ecology and Systematics is internationally outstanding and includes:

  • page of

As mentioned earlier, distances are small in Jena. This applies too to that between research and teaching which are so closely integrated that students are able to grow confidently into their subject and to learn in an atmosphere of openness and cooperation between the institutes and tutors involved. 

We look forward to receiving your application as a student of the MEES in Jena!

Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University in the social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the Best Practice Club "Family at the University"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
Top of the page

Krabbenspinne

Master Evolution, Ecology and Systematics

Der Master Evolution, Ecology and Systematics an der Universität Jena bietet eine wissenschaftliche Ausbildung auf hohem Niveau. Es deckt das gesamte Spektrum von Molekülen bis hin zur Biodiversität von Lebensgemeinschaften ab.

Der Master-Studiengang Evolution, Ecology and Systematics vermittelt vertiefte Kenntnisse biologischer Systeme mit klarem Bezug zur aktuelle Forschung in der organismischen und evolutionären Biologie.

Das Studium ist interdisziplinär ausgerichtet, sodass Kompetenzen zur Ökologie, Biodiversität (inkl. Artenkenntnis), Evolutionsbiologie, Paläontologie, Systematik und Phylogenetik auf unterschiedlichen Organisationsebenen und für verschiedene Organismengruppen erworben werden können.

Unser Leitbild ist, basierend auf einer fundierten Grundausbildung, allen Studierenden eine individuelle Profilbildung zu ermöglichen. Dazu absolvieren die Studierenden die fünf Pflichtmodule zur EvolutionsforschungÖkologie und DiversitätArtenkenntnisVersuchsplanung und Analyse biologischer Daten, sowie eine Großexkursion. Im Wahlpflichtbereich lässt der Studiengang sehr großen Spielraum für individuelle Wahlmöglichkeiten aus Modulen der beteiligten Institute für Zoologie und Evolutionsforschung, Ökologie und Evolution und Biodiversität

Unsere Absolventinnen und Absolventen werden in die Lage versetzt, forschungsorientierte Tätigkeiten an Hochschulen, außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen, Museen, in Behörden, Verbänden oder der Privatwirtschaft auszuüben.

©David Cebulla Imagefilm: Der ehrliche Professor

Lehrprofil

Der Masterstudiengang Evolution, Ecology and Systematics richtet sich an Studierende mit einem Bachelor-Abschluss in Biologie, die sich für organismische und molekulare Fragestellungen interessieren. 

Das experimentell ausgerichtete Studium ist konsekutiv aufgebaut, forschungsorientiert und führt zum zweiten berufsqualifizierenden Abschluss. Die Unterrichtssprachen sind Englisch und Deutsch, wobei ein Studium ausschließlich in Englisch möglich ist. Der Studienbeginn erfolgt jeweils zum Wintersemester.

Das Lehrprofil des Master-Studiengangs zeichnet sich, neben Vorlesungen, durch einen hohen Anteil selbstständiger Arbeiten in Seminaren und praktischen Übungen aus. Es werden verschiedene Wahlpflichtmodule angeboten, die eine breite Ausbildung in allen Fächern der organismischen und evolutionären Biologie, aber auch eine fachliche Schwerpunktbildung, ermöglichen. Details finden sich auf den Unterseiten zum Studienaufbau oder in den Studiendokumenten.

Unsere Absolventinnen und Absolventen erwerben neben den fachspezifischen wissenschaftlichen Fähigkeiten die kommunikativen Fertigkeiten zur Darstellung wissenschaftlicher Ergebnisse in der Öffentlichkeit und können durch die Möglichkeit eines Auslandssemesters auch internationale Erfahrungen sammeln. 
Der Master-Studiengang qualifiziert insbesondere für die wissenschaftliche Laufbahn und schafft die Voraussetzung für ein aufbauendes Promotionsstudium in den Bereichen Zoologie, Botanik, Systematik, Ökologie, Evolutionsbiologie, Mikrobiologie und funktionelle Biodiversitätsforschung an der FSU Jena sowie im In- und Ausland. Die Ausbildung befähigt damit zur wissenschaftlichen Arbeit in hochaktuellen Berufsfeldern der organismischen Biologie.

  • Seite von

Der Standort Jena

In Jena, der Stadt der Wissenschaft des Jahres 2008, ist man mittendrin in der „Stapelstadt des Wissens“ (Goethe). In Jena ist nichts weit; die Stadt liegt eingebettet in die schöne Landschaft des Saaletals. Jena ist eine Stadt der Vielfalt: Die Universität bietet eine breite Palette von Studiengängen und pflegt den Kontakt zwischen Studierenden und Wissenschaftlern verschiedener Fächer. In dieser Vernetzung liegt einer der Gründe für den Erfolg der dynamischen und aufstrebenden Stadt seit der Wende. Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft in der Universität und in benachbarten Großinstituten der Max-Planck Gesellschaft und der Gottfried Wilhelm Leibnitz Gemeinschaft arbeiten eng zusammen, und auch Universität und Stadt bemühen sich mit Erfolg darum, dass sich Jena immer mehr zu einem Studentenparadies entwickelt. Semesterticket zur Benutzung von öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln, Verzicht auf Studiengebühren, attraktive Freizeitangebote, beispielhafte soziale Infrastruktur besonders für junge Familien und ein weltoffenes Klima ziehen jedes Jahr mehr als 2000 neue Studierende nach Jena.

  • Seite von

Die Biologie hat in Jena eine große Tradition. Hier haben der Zoologe Ernst Haeckel, der Botaniker Matthias Jakob Schleiden und der Genetiker und Botaniker Otto Renner die Wissenschaft voran gebracht. Studierende und Wissenschaftler können für den Bereich Evolution, Ökologie und Systematik eine auch im internationalen Vergleich hervorragende Infrastruktur nutzen:

  • Seite von

Also: in Jena ist nichts weit. Dies gilt auch für die enge Verzahnung von Forschung und Lehre. Hier wachsen Studierende direkt in ihre Wissenschaft hinein und lernen in einem offenen Klima zwischen den beteiligten Instituten und Dozenten. 

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung für das Studium des MEES in Jena! 

Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
Zurück zum Seitenanfang